Fashion Advertisements Obsession

Hi all, I’ve been very quiet for a while, oops! I have good reason though (well, kind of..) You see my main obsession for as long as I can remember is Fashion magazines! At the moment I literally have 100’s in my house and probably 10 or 12 that I haven’t even properly read yet.

I say ‘read’ when a lot of them are literally for my viewing pleasure. Fashion advertisements have never looked so good. Swoooooon.

Ok, so its a hot topic, some folk detest the page after page after page of ‘advertsising’ in the big fashion mags, and then there are people like myself who adore them.

I love seeing what new angle a brand has gone in, what face they have decided to trust with their brand perception. Which handbag in the new collection warrants pride of place in the ad and also what crazy, abstract angle have they decided to take. There are a number of styles in these fashion ads in my opinion:

1 – The most boring, yet most used and probably most popular style; Model / celebrity holding handbag/bottle of perfume/ wearing brand shoes, etc. The merits of these types of ads are plain to see and I LOVE seeing what the new face of a brand is this season. Some brands like Louis Vuitton change their ‘face’ all the time, annually if not seasonally and some other brands are invested with their ‘face’ and will run with the same person for years, like Natalie Portman and Dior.

Dior are so invested in realtions with Natalie, and respect her as the afce of the brand so highly that John Galliano was ejected as chief designer ogf the nfashion hnouse after making crude comme nts about JKewish people – Natalie didn’t take his commen tys lying down, being a jew herself, and the power heads responded by dropping John like a hot stone.

John Galliano

2 – The second type is the abstract’ ads; These ads are generally an image of a models lower leg with a dog in the forefront or an image of a beautiful model with the actual product being advertised almost unidentifiable in the advertisement. Intriguing choice and definitely not one of my favoutires.

3 – Then you have the brilliant ads which have a theme and a ‘play’ type motion. Louis Vuitton is cleaning up in the advert stakes this season, and last. The current ads are of a group of beautiful models on a train carriage with every conceivable space in the carriage filled with Vuitton hats/ handbags/ coats. The intrigue and sheer time it takes to absorb all the informaiton is brilliant,. I could literally gaze at these adverts for an hour and still find the detail interesting, there is so much to see and so, so, so much beautiful things!! Have a sneak at the ad below:

So, there are probably even more types but the above are the main ones I generally come across. Although I love a fashion advert I detest all the perfume ones, simply pointless images of naked women with a teeny tiny pic of the actual product being advertised, yawn!

What’s your favourite Fashion Ads?! Its great that I get to gaze at the ads, I only wish I could actually BUY the products instead of just lovingly reading about them!!

L XX

Leave a comment